Yeah, I've been ultra busy and that was complete bullshit when I said I'd write the next day so here goes my past million days. I can't really remember all the music I've seen, I believe it was Kings of Leon twice, Lily Allen and then Albert Hammond Jr. and then the Jelly NYC shows - but I could be wrong, there may be more. Well here is how that all went: Kings of Leon live = what I've been waiting for (intensely) for about two years. I hate saying things are the best shows of the year since all are different and that's what make them fun blah blah blah but twas amazing. I love KOL a ton and since the show had so much build up it ended up being a really killer event. (So far I've used "ultra" and "killer" what other odd and dead phrases will I think up next?) But, as I was saying, this may have been the best concert all year for these reasons: LOVE THEM, build up, fun company, and the two most important factors: packed BUT I had dancing room. Oh yes, rowdy yet dancable. So yes I also knew that Jared Followill was a good looking kid but about five minutes into their set I was near orgasm and ended biting my dear friend Matthew's shoulder very hard. So yeah, I have zero train of thought right now, but other than my big fear of the VERY drunk girl a few people behind me puking on me (when she slumped forward I thought she was puking and without realized i whirred from the right side of the stage toward the center) and the short woman who passed out and whose husband was just barely keeping her alive and getting kicked in the head severely hard the night was more than a success. On to that Friday: I went to the Apple store around 2 (maybe a big later) and saw my dear underage friends (whom I met at The Kooks) and seeing as they were the second group of people on the line I was very happy when I was invited to wait with them. I waited on line for some very dramatic 4ish hours (people were pissed that me and a few others skipped in with them, and I sweat to death then nearly passed out). Twas worth it I suppose. 8 songs. Nacho gave me a setlist. Got it signed by all five of them and then went outside for a picture with Jared (I think the girl who took them for me lost my email so I have NO CLUE what the photos looked like which makes me sad.) Afterwards I realized how silly I acted and how irratating it must be for bands to deal with demanding fans so then and there I told mysself I would no longer be a little fangirl, I've put up with that pretty well.
Next: Lily Allen. I went with my dears, Laura and Jane and ended up meeting two new loves: Mitch and Max. Waited on line for forever but it didn't feel too bad. Went inside, (can you tell I know I'm going to get distracted and need to write this fast) front row on the gate, (acceptable since it clearly wouldn't be pushy) Aaron LaCrate is my new love. He's a great DJ and quite cute. Kevin Michael was THE WORST. That guy fucking loved himself. I feel a bit bad for the things we yelled out of bordom and anger but mehh everyone else was feeling the same thing. At one point while undressing himself in a manner he thought was quite hot, he said "you guys are making me sing up here" (as if he were being fucked by several groupies and were to say "you guys are making me cum up here") to which Laura answered "it's your job." Finally he and his band left and Aaron came back then after a long long time Lily came on! She got really abd reviews for this show since she forgot the lyrics and such but mehh who cares we had fun with her. When she forgot the lyrics she held the mic up to Max and I which was fun until we couldn't start the next verse, when she played a chord during a song she threw the pic to Laura and at the end she threw her lyric sheets to us (I ended up with "Not Big" which is one of my favorites). Other sightings: Richie Rich, we had a big wave-fest with him but he left before the encore which meant we couldn't chat later. Basically the night was great, sorry I didn't really write about the show, it's all a bit fuzzy now, I thought it was really fun and she looks fucking gorgeous.
Finally: Albert Hammond Jr, Dead Trees, Medium Cool. Ok, back story: Sexy Magazines: broken up glamish young nyc boys who took up the end of 2004 to early 2005 for me. I had a lot of great experiences with them and at their shows and love them to death, I only ever really hung around Franco and Marc when I saw them but they were all nice guys. I only really talk to Marc now. Medium Cool: 3 out of the 5 Mags, Marc, Mark, and Casey. Marc plays with Albert too. So back to the day of the show. I end up coming at 4:30 when the doors are at like 8 because I thought the doors were at 6:45. That pissed off my friend Ben (he's the one that went with me to Arctic Monkeys and to the March 3rd Strokes show last year, don't ask why I remember the date). We waited around for forever and had Albert pass by us nearly 5 times (to which I didn't react seeing as I am no longer a fangirl, haha) as well as Juliet Casablancas (when she walked by all I could think in my head was "I recognize that dogish nose," but soon someone said who it was so there was no need to kill myself trying to place her.) After a long time I saw Marc and had a nice chat with him during which he said to Casey who didn't seem to reconize me "You remember ______, she was in the sexy magazines" which made me feel nice. Funny end of our conversation: remember those underage boys from The Kooks? They were there online and somehow ended up hovering in a group behind me while I was talking to Marc which weired him out a bit I think (those kids weren't even 16 so they couldn't get in, sucks for them.) All I remember from the show (other than Ben nearly puking then burping what smelled like boiled hotdogs all night) was that all three bands played great, the drummer from The Dead Trees has a really expressive neck, I didn't dance enough, these girls standing in the photo pit (a bunch of people ended up there) threw their numbers at Albert and that I have Marc's pick (which bounced off of my head, fell to the floor and then was found by Ben.) I think that's all for those three shows they were quite nice and fun from what I can remember.
Saturday, June 23, 2007
Saturday, June 9, 2007
Has It Been That Long?
Well I've got loads to say.
First, my lovely last wensday: I saw Roger Waters, I went with my mother because she had wanted to see him and such. So we get thre, realize how shit our seats are and then sit down and end up having to chug $7.50 beers to make up for the fact that everyone and their mother was smoking around us and we needed to be somewhat unsober to fully appreciate our "Night With Roger Waters." All we ended up doing was becoming quite bloated and rolly-polly. Can't say we didn't try. Then blah blah blah, music music music and then encore: from the quick beers through extra-long straws made us pee many a time we ended up standing at the back (only several rows behind our seats) near the men's room (which was right next to the women's) after our final trip. You'd think there's no danger there, correct? You'd be wrong. Now anyone who knows me knows I'm terrified of throwing up (branching from my lovely night when I was 12 when I puked 5 times in one night all over my home (which may not be a lot for any heavy drinker but save New Year's 2006 I can my drinks down pretty well)) and I'm not OK with other's ralphing (haha, I've never used that term before) and I also have a slight fear, I suppose you could call it, of mushrooms (no reason why, one day I decided I hated them and just stopped eating them.) So now that you've got the back story: I thought a cleaning person threw down some soapy water that hit my feet so I turn around and lo and behold: PUKE WITH SLICED - UNCHEWED - MUSHROOMS! No joke so of course I regressed, ran to the bathroom, wimpered made my mother wipe my feet and sulked to the train before it was quite over. AWFUL END TO THE NIGHT!
Tomorrow I'll continue with parts 2, 3 and 4 of my recent life.
First, my lovely last wensday: I saw Roger Waters, I went with my mother because she had wanted to see him and such. So we get thre, realize how shit our seats are and then sit down and end up having to chug $7.50 beers to make up for the fact that everyone and their mother was smoking around us and we needed to be somewhat unsober to fully appreciate our "Night With Roger Waters." All we ended up doing was becoming quite bloated and rolly-polly. Can't say we didn't try. Then blah blah blah, music music music and then encore: from the quick beers through extra-long straws made us pee many a time we ended up standing at the back (only several rows behind our seats) near the men's room (which was right next to the women's) after our final trip. You'd think there's no danger there, correct? You'd be wrong. Now anyone who knows me knows I'm terrified of throwing up (branching from my lovely night when I was 12 when I puked 5 times in one night all over my home (which may not be a lot for any heavy drinker but save New Year's 2006 I can my drinks down pretty well)) and I'm not OK with other's ralphing (haha, I've never used that term before) and I also have a slight fear, I suppose you could call it, of mushrooms (no reason why, one day I decided I hated them and just stopped eating them.) So now that you've got the back story: I thought a cleaning person threw down some soapy water that hit my feet so I turn around and lo and behold: PUKE WITH SLICED - UNCHEWED - MUSHROOMS! No joke so of course I regressed, ran to the bathroom, wimpered made my mother wipe my feet and sulked to the train before it was quite over. AWFUL END TO THE NIGHT!
Tomorrow I'll continue with parts 2, 3 and 4 of my recent life.
Monday, May 21, 2007
Klaxons Are Kunts.
I quite like that shirt but I'm not terribly fond of the word cunt. Either that or I love it. Depends on the weather I suppose. A very nice shirt. Don't think I could wear it to my grandmother's for Christmas though.
Ick.
Guess what lovely way I caught a horrible cold. I dare you. At one point during the Arctic Monkeys when I, and everyone surrounding me, got dehydrated we all passed around some water bottle given to us (myself and maybe five strangers) by a security guard (one who, when I looked over at him at one point during the show, gave me quite a fright seeing as he has a nice streak of blood - not his own - across his yellow shirt.) So, turns out when I was joking on the subway how I was bound to get mono, herpes, or at least some minor illness I was simply foreseeing the future. I'm sick. Sick. Sick. I've sneezed four times while writing this alone. I haven't had a full nights sleep since Thursday. Awful. I had to miss out on Danny Masterson at Misshapes since I was lying in a pile of tissues and cough syrup. I'm watching Running With Scissors right now, quite good, it's paused so I can search for my Vitamin C drops.
Wednesday, May 16, 2007
ARCTIC MONKEYS
Oh yes. I saw them - and yes, I'm still alive though fairly bruised. So I showed up early and waited around for a long time and played Uno quite a few times but when I got in it was worth the wait (as usual, I honestly have yet to be truely dissapointed by a concert and I've been to possibly hundreds.) I litterally ran up to the front and was basically blinded and deafened by the girls next to me with their bright flashing cameras and screams about "how cool" it is to be at a show on a school night. Then came be Your Own Pet. Amazing. I knew they were good but seeing Jemina live was beyond hot. I wouldn't be surprised if I end up bleaching my hair and cutting it on a whim and dancing about on stages (haha that sounds like I want to be a stripper.) Well basically it was good and this hot guy ran around the stage for a bit and the drummer is cute - really young looking. Then... wait for it... THE ARCTIC MONKEYS! Oh man, nuts, at the Kooks I was like: oh, nice, dancing room, but squished, very nice but no here it was back to Strokes status of last year at Hammerstein ie squished, barely breathing, covered in sweat, shoes half off, in unison jumping - amazing. They were so good and as usual I was front front front center. The way Alex dances when he sings was quite a nice addition. It was really great, 20 song set but no encores! How odd! I also really wanted a set list and they wouldn't throw it to me but then I feel a tug from behind - my companion who was seperated from me during the first line of the first song and he had caught one for me. Hooray. Happy days. We wiggled through the crowd, to the 2 train and back off, sweatily and smiling, to Brooklyn.
Saturday, May 12, 2007
KOOKS
Last night I saw the Kooks with Illinois as the opener. As usual I got there like 2 hours early and then found there was not a single person of legal age in sight. Once me and my lovely friend got in we raced to the front and had to deal with girls making fun of us in french, an overly avid fan wearing the bands shirt to the show for the second night in a row, and obscenely young guys that turned out to basically be me (every show they had or were going to go to i was as well and any band they loved i did too, oy). Skip to actual music: Illinois was amazing. They were the best openers I've seen (that I didn't mean to see ie. Raconteurs for Bob Dylan, etc) in a long long time. The singer had this mic that I'd never seen before that was a phone so it sounded muffled and just really good. I was so impressed that I was pretty upset when they had to go so the Kooks could set up and play. I had thought earlier in the day that this would be a sorta calm show since it's britpop and how crazy can britpop be? Turned out I was wrong, 'twas wild. Loved it. The band is clearly all about Luke (and he knew it) which sucked and made me sad that he was such a front man that it was basically him and a backup band. During the last song (of the encore) he climbed onto the gate in the audience and i got to grab quite a lot of calf. Hot. This was also after I realized you could see his dick quite clearly through his pants; looked nice. After it was over I felt like shit and drank too much water too fast which made things worse and I wanted to wait around because I wanted to ask Luke where he got his sweater from (why I'm not a guy I don't know since I'm clearly a dirty 14 year old) but I abandoned that idea and then realized Illinois was at their table so I bought a cd and after nearly puking on their table they all signed my cd. Once I got to the last guy (it sucks because I can't remember what he played, maybe bass?) he was surrounded by these maybe 13 or 14 (tops) year old girls who I'd seen earlier that were all wearing MATCHING (not color cordinated but litterally the same outfit) Forever-21 dresses and carrying around their shopping bags. I really felt bad for the guy, one of their names was Ariel and I guess maybe they thought it was cute to be demanding but they were shoving stuff in his face and being like "SIGN THIS AS ARIEL" or "SING LITTLE MERMAID!" and he just had a pained look on his face. Turned out he was really cool though when he started ignoring them to talk to me I told him I'd have to catch them with Hold Steady (saw it on their myspace right before I left for the show but I didn't listen to any of their music, and I won't be because it's all midwest shows I think, which sucks) and that they'd have to play with the Hold Steady at the prospect park show because it's like 5 blocks from my house. And he said how he'd try and that he'd hold me to that and asked my name and such (he said his but I was feeling really ill by this point) it was a cute flirting moment but then I had to go so there goes that. I really hope I get to see them again soon. They're music was sooo good live and now I'm addicted to the cd. My favorite songs are "One on One" and "Alone Again," you can listen to them at www.myspace.com/illinois
Also: they're from Bucks County, PA
Another also: I was of course in the middle with one person seperating me from the gate, as usual
Also: they're from Bucks County, PA
Another also: I was of course in the middle with one person seperating me from the gate, as usual
Monday, April 30, 2007
HIGH CLASS ELITE!!!
YESSSS! High Class Elite just posted their first video on their myspace! www. myspace.com/highclasselite
The lead singer was the singer in, my loves, The Sexy Magazines. Lurve the video, lurved the song when I first heard it at knitting factory about two years ago when they were still The Sexy Magazines.
Also: High Class Elite is opening for a free Albert Hammond Jr show at Hiro Ballroom (Marc from The Sexy Magazines plays with Albert now) should be fun.
The lead singer was the singer in, my loves, The Sexy Magazines. Lurve the video, lurved the song when I first heard it at knitting factory about two years ago when they were still The Sexy Magazines.
Also: High Class Elite is opening for a free Albert Hammond Jr show at Hiro Ballroom (Marc from The Sexy Magazines plays with Albert now) should be fun.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)